We are God's perfect couple

Daisypath - Personal pictureDaisypath Anniversary tickers

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

It's not NOBLE it's N-O-B-E-L!

I saw in a movie once wherein a child was telling her mom that he will receive the NOBLE prize when he grows up. The mother corrected him in saying NOBLE. "It's N-O-B-E-L!"

So here's a list of some Nobel prize winners in literature which I got from the net.

Again, it's NOBEL not noble!


MARIO VARGAS LLOSA for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat.


HERTA MÜLLER who, with the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose, depicts the landscape of the dispossessed.


JEAN-MARIE GUSTAVE LE CLÉZIO author of new departures, poetic adventure and sensual ecstasy, explorer of a humanity beyond and below the reigning civilization.


DORIS LESSING that epicist of the female experience, who with scepticism, fire and visionary power has subjected a divided civilisation to scrutiny.


ORHAN PAMUK who in the quest for the melancholic soul of his native city has discovered new symbols for the clash and interlacing of cultures.


HAROLD PINTER who in his plays uncovers the precipice under everyday prattle and forces entry into oppression's closed rooms.


ELFRIEDE JELINEK for her musical flow of voices and counter-voices in novels and plays that with extraordinary linguistic zeal reveal the absurdity of society's clich s and their subjugating power


JOHN MAXWELL COETZEE who in innumerable guises portrays the surprising involvement of the outsider


IMRE KERTÉSZ for writing that upholds the fragile experience of the individual against the barbaric arbitrariness of history


V. S. NAIPAUL for having united perceptive narrative and incorruptible scrutiny in works that compel us to see the presence of suppressed histories.


GAO XINGJIAN for an oeuvre of universal validity, bitter insights and linguistic ingenuity, which has opened new paths for the Chinese novel and drama.


GUNTER GRASS whose frolicsome black fables portray the forgotten face of history.


JOSE SARAMAGO who with parables sustained by imagination, compassion and irony continually enables us once again to apprehend an elusory reality.


DARIO FO who emulates the jesters of the Middle Ages in scourging authority and upholding the dignity of the downtrodden.


WISLAWA SZYMBORSKA for poetry that with ironic precision allows the historical and biological context to come to light in fragments of human reality.


SEAMUS HEANEY for works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth, which exalt everyday miracles and the living past.


KENZABURO OE who with poetic force creates an imagined world, where life and myth condense to form a disconcerting picture of the human predicament today.


TONI MORRISON who in novels characterized by visionary force and poetic import, gives life to an essential aspect of American reality.


DEREK WALCOTT for a poetic oeuvre of great luminosity, sustained by a historical vision, the outcome of a multicultural commitment.


NADINE GORDIMER who through her magnificent epic writing has - in the words of Alfred Nobel - been of very great benefit to humanity.


OCTAVIO PAZ for impassioned writing with wide horizons, characterized by sensuous intelligence and humanistic integrity.

No comments:

Post a Comment